Institute for Geometry and its Applications, IGA, differential geometry, algebraic topology, complex geometry, noncommutative geometry, partial differential equations, index theory, geometric Langlands, quantum theory, moduli spaces, representation theory, string theory, mathematical physics, pure mathematics, adelaide

Lecture Series

School of Mathematical Sciences
ECMS Faculty Research Institutes
University of Adelaide
Interesting links

Proudly supported in 2013-2017 by:
Division of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Research)

Geometry lies at the core of modern mathematics with deep and wide implications in all other mathematical disciplines. In the last decade there has been an extraordinary confluence of ideas in mathematics and theoretical physics brought about by pioneering discoveries in geometry and analysis. Geometry pervades modern technology (medical imaging and information security being two well known examples).

A University Research Centre and the research arm of the Discipline of Pure Mathematics in the School of Mathematical Sciences, the Institute for Geometry and its Applications (IGA) was founded on the 7th of November 1996, in recognition of the strong group of researchers in geometry and its applications at Adelaide, with its inaugural director being Professor Michael Eastwood (Adelaide). The IGA organises symposia, workshops, instructional schools and regular seminars. The IGA also provides collaborative opportunities to promote research in geometry. The IGA staff are currently researching in a wide range of subjects in the area of geometry including differential, finite, complex, non-commutative and algebraic geometry together with geometric topics in mathematical physics including quantum theory, topological phases of matter, string theory; geometric analysis; index theory; K-theory; moduli spaces; category theory; information security and representation theory. The IGA has recently been recognized as being one of the University's Research Expertise and Strengths in the fundamental disciplines.

In the 2015 Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) nationwide rankings, Pure Mathematics at Adelaide received an outstanding score of 5 (out of 5), rating it well above world standard as well as (joint) top ranking in the nation. For the ERA rankings within the university, see here

2009: IGA special events
2010: IGA Special Year in Geometry and its Applications
2011: IGA special events
2012: IGA special events
2013: IGA special events
2015: IGA Special Year in Geometry and Physics

Upcoming and recent IGA Events

2nd Australia-Japan conference on Geometry, Analysis and their Applications, Kyoto University, Japan, January 30-February 3, 2017.
IGA Workshop, Gauge theory and higher geometry: monopoles and bundle gerbes, Michael Murray's 60th birthday conference, November 27 - December 1st, 2017.
IGA/AMSI Workshop, Australia-China conference in noncommutative geometry and related areas, 18-22 December, 2017.
String Geometries and Dualities (Australia-Brazil meeting) IMPA, Rio de Janeiro, December 12-16, 2016. See the poster.
Call for papers: JGP special issue on String geometries, Dualities and Topological Matter
IGA/AMSI Workshop, Topological matter, strings, K-theory and related areas, 26-30 September 2016.
Professor Jonathan M. Rosenberg spent part of his sabbatical leave at University of Adelaide, January 26 - March 6, 2016.

Recent achievements by HDR students:
Dr David Bowman (Larusson, Buchdahl) Commendation from the Dean for Doctoral Excellence. (2016)
Mr Hao Guo (Varghese, Wang) 2016 B.H. Neumann Prize winner. Certificate. Dean's letter
Mr Brett Chenoweth (Larusson, Buchdahl) Commendation from the Dean of Graduate Studies. (2016)
Ms Kelli Francis-Staite (Murray, Leistner), Rhodes PhD Scholarship at Oxford University. (2015)
Mr Konrad Pilch (Varghese, Murray), PhD scholarship at CALTECH. (2015)
Mr William Crawford (Larusson, Buchdahl), University medal and APA for PhD at Monash University. (2015)

Recent achievements by ECRs
Dr Tuyen Truong, Associate Professor at University of Oslo, starting Fall 2017-.
Dr Guo Chuan Thiang, DECRA, 2017-2019
Dr David Baraglia, DECRA, 2016-2018, DP (with Mathai) 2017-2019
Dr Hang Wang, DECRA, 2016-2018
Dr Wolfgang Globke, DECRA, 2015-2017

© 2017 Last changed 2017/04/05
Email IGA web person