IGA - Members

Members of the IGA

The current membership is as follows.

1. Full-time academic staff

Director: Elder Professor Mathai Varghese FAA (Australian Laureate Fellow)
Deputy Director: Professor Michael K. Murray

Dr David Baraglia (Senior Lecturer)
Dr Susan Barwick (Senior Lecturer)
Associate Professor Nicholas Buchdahl
Professor Michael Eastwood FAA
Dr Peter Hochs (Senior Lecturer)
Professor Finnur Larusson
Associate Professor Thomas Leistner
Dr Danny Stevenson (Senior Lecturer)
Dr Raymond Vozzo (Scholarly Teaching Fellow)

2. Adjunct and Affiliate staff

Professor Peter Bouwknegt (Director, MSI, ANU)
Professor Alan Carey FAA (MSI, ANU)
Professor Tim Pentilla
Dr Wen-Ai Jackson

Research staff

Dr Guanheng Chen (ARC Research Associate, 2018-2020 June)
Dr Lachlan MacDonald (ARC Research Associate, 2020-2022)
Dr Benjamin McMillan, ARC Research Associate (2019-2021)
Dr David Roberts (ARC Research Associate, 2018-2020)
Dr Hemanth Saratchandran (Laureate Research Associate, 2020-2022)
Dr Guo Chuan Thiang (ARC DECRA Fellow, 2017-2020 March)

3. Postgraduates: current

Mr Joshua Celeste (Baraglia, Varghese, MPhil at Adelaide)
Mr Esteban Federico Costanza (Leistner, Eastwood, PhD at Adelaide)
Mr Ryan Dye (Larusson, Stevenson, MPhil at Adelaide)
Mr Daniel Franceschinis (Leistner, Eastwood, MPhil at Adelaide)
Mr Matthias Fresacher (Varghese, Hochs, MPhil at Adelaide)
Mr Elliot Herrington (Larusson, Leistner, PhD at Adelaide)
Mr Parsa Kavkani (Murray, Stevenson, PhD at Adelaide)
Ms Manasa Manjunatha (Leistner, Cortes (Hamburg), PhD at Adelaide and Hamburg)
Mr James McCusker (Stevenson, Vozzo, MPhil at Adelaide)
Mr Nicholas McLean (Murray, Hochs, MPhil at Adelaide)
Mr Timothy Moy (Eastwood, Leistner, MPhil at Adelaide)
Mr Thomas Munn (Leistner, Eastwood, MPhil at Adelaide)
Mr Alexander Lai De Oliveira (Larusson, Stevenson, MPhil at Adelaide)
Mr Kieran O'Loughlin (Murray, Stevenson, MPhil at Adelaide)
Ms Marisa Schult (Varghese, Baraglia, PhD at Adelaide)
Mr Liam Stoldt (Stevenson, Vozzo, MPhil at Adelaide)
Mr Ahnaf Tajwar Tahabub (Varghese, Baraglia, MPhil at Adelaide) 2020 Fulbright Future PhD Scholarship
Mr Stuart Teisseire (Leistner, Eastwood, MPhil at Adelaide)

4. Recent Ph.D. completions (since 2008)

Dr David Butler (Barwick, Casse, PhD 2008, Adelaide)
Dr Jens Kroeske (Eastwood, Buchdahl, PhD 2008, Adelaide)
Dr Tony Scoleri (Murray, Brooks, Chojnacki, PhD 2008, Adelaide)
Dr Rongmin Lu (Varghese, Buchdahl, PhD 2009, Adelaide)
Dr Raymond Vozzo (Murray, Varghese, PhD 2009, Adelaide)
Dr David Roberts (Murray, Varghese, Stasheff, PhD 2010, Adelaide)
Dr Daniel Marshall (Barwick, Casse, PhD 2010, Adelaide),
Dr Richard Green (Varghese, Murray, PhD 2011, Adelaide),
Dr James Wallbridge (Varghese, Murray, Toen, PhD 2011, Adelaide & Toulouse)
Dr Tyson Ritter (Larusson, Buchdahl, PhD 2011, Adelaide),
Dr Alexander Hanysz (Larusson, Buchdahl, PhD 2013, Adelaide),
Dr David Bowman (Larusson, Buchdahl, PhD 2016, Adelaide),
Dr Hao Guo (Varghese, Wang, PhD 2018, Adelaide) 2016 B.H. Neumann Prize winner
Dr Zhenxi Huang (Varghese, Baraglia, PhD 2018, Adelaide)
Dr Johnny Lim (Varghese, Thiang, Wang, PhD 2019, Adelaide) 2019 Elsevier Young Scientist Award

5. Recent Masters completions (since 2008)

Ms Haripriya Sridharan (Larusson, Leistner, MPhil 2020, Adelaide)
Mr Benjamin Moore (Eastwood, Leistner, MPhil 2020, Adelaide)
Mr David Brook (Varghese, Hochs, MPhil 2020, Adelaide)
Ms Kimberly Becker (Murray, Stevenson, MPhil 2019, Adelaide) 2019 Oxford Australia PhD Scholarship, 2019 University Research Medal
Mr Matthew Ryan (Larusson, Murray, MPhil 2019, Adelaide)
Mr Samuel Mills (Varghese, Hochs, MPhil 2019, Adelaide)
Mr Daniel John (Larusson, Stevenson, MPhil 2019, Adelaide)
Mr John McCarthy (Varghese, Baraglia, MPhil 2018, Adelaide) 2018 University Research Medal
Mr Michael Hallam (Varghese, Baraglia, MPhil 2018, Adelaide) 2018 Elsevier Young Scientist Award, 2017 B.H. Neumann Prize winner
Mr Parsa Kavkani (Murray, Stevenson, MPhil 2018, Adelaide)
Mr Brett Chenoweth (Larusson, Buchdahl, MPhil 2016, Adelaide)
Ms Kelli Francis-Staite (Murray, Leistner, MPhil 2015, Adelaide), 2015 Rhodes PhD Scholarship
Mr Konrad Pilch (Varghese, Murray, MPhil 2014, Adelaide)
Mr William Crawford (Larusson, Buchdahl, MPhil 2014, Adelaide) 2014 University Research Medal
Mr Luke Francis Keating Hughes (Murray, Stevenson, MPhil 2014, Adelaide)
Mr Ryan Mickler (Varghese, Murray, MPhil 2012, Adelaide)
Mr Vincent Sebastian Schlegel (Murray, Hekmati, MPhil 2012, Adelaide)

6. Recent IGA alumni

Dr Guanheng Chen (ARC Research Associate, 2017-2020 June) Assistant Professor, S.S. Yau Centre of Southeastern University (2020-2023)
Dr Matthias Ludewig, (Laureate Research Associate, 2018-2020 March; University of Regensburg, Germany)
Dr Alex Fok (ARC Research Associate, 2017-2019 March; Contract Lecturer, U. Auckland, 2019)
Dr Pedram Hekmati (ARC DECRA Fellow, U. Adelaide, 2012-2014; Postdoc of Excellence, IMPA, Brazil, 2015-2017; Senior Lecturer, U. Auckland, 2017-)
Dr Melissa Tacy (Lecturer, U. Adelaide, 2014-2016; Postdoc at ANU, Canberra, 2016-2017; Lecturer, U. Otago, NZ, 2017-)
Dr Tuyen Truong, (ARC Research Associate, 2015-2017; Associate Professor at University of Oslo, Norway, September 2017-).
Dr Wolfgang Globke, (ARC DECRA Fellow, U. Adelaide, 2015-2017, Postdoc at University of Vienna, Austria, 2018-2021).
Dr Hang Wang, (ARC DECRA Fellow, U. Adelaide, 2016-2018, Professor, East China Normal University and 1000 talents fellowship).

Eligibility for membership

Members of the Institute currently have links with the Department of Physics and Mathematical Physics. Any member of that department, and indeed a member of any University Department considered to have interests in common with the Institute, may apply to become a member of the Institute. Such members will be required to specify a fraction of their time which will be devoted to activities falling within the ambit of the Institute. Associate membership of the Institute may be granted to staff of other Universities where this will enhance the activities of the Institute. The Institute will work with the proposed University of Adelaide Institute of Theoretical Physics to promote cooperation in research and postgraduate training in those areas of common interest. The two Institutes may share resources where appropriate.

© 2020 Last changed 2020/05/21
Email IGA web person